Build my system

We may earn a commission from links on this site in the future. Today we hold no affiliate approvals, so every button goes straight to the seller, and rankings are never sold. How we make money

Clean my floors

Robot vacuums are the most mature home robots you can buy. The hard part isn't finding a good one — it's matching three things most listings blur together: your floors, the mop system, and how the robot avoids clutter.

The three questions that decide it

  1. How much rug and carpet? On hard floors any mop dock works. Over rugs, mop-lift height decides whether pads drag wet across them: 10.5 mm is common, 12 mm is better, and the Qrevo CurvX lifts up to 17 mm. Wall-to-wall carpet needs suction and a brush that resists hair tangles — and you'll still want a real vacuum.
  2. Do you want it to mop for real? A "mop pad" on a budget robot is a damp cloth you wash by hand. A full dock empties the bin, washes the mops (hot water is better for grease), dries them so they don't smell, and refills water. That dock is most of the price difference.
  3. Camera or no camera? Camera-based obstacle avoidance is better at seeing socks, cords and pet messes. Laser and LiDAR-only robots keep video out of your home but bump into more clutter. Neither replaces picking up the floor.

What every floor robot needs

The robot is the start. A working floor system also needs:

  • A dock spot with an outlet and clearance (most docks want space on each side and in front).
  • Consumables: dust bags, filters, brushes and mop pads. From Dreame's official price list, a year of parts for its L40 Ultra runs about $195 if you replace on a typical schedule — our estimate, since pack sizes aren't stated.
  • Cleaning solution if your dock auto-doses it (some are sold separately).
  • A 5-minute pickup habit before runs. Cords and socks are the top reason robots stop mid-clean.
  • A real vacuum if you have carpet and pets.

About those "list" prices: Roborock listed the Saros Z70 at $2,599.99 while selling it for $999.99. We show the price you'd actually pay on the day we checked, and note the list price so you can judge the "discount" yourself.

Side by side

FeatureRoborock Q7 M5+MOVA P10 Pro UltraDreame L40 Ultra Gen 2Narwal Freo Z10 TurboRoborock Qrevo CurvXMOVA P70 Pro UltraDreame X50 Ultra
Price$249.99 (sale; was $429.99)$499$569.99 (sale; regular $799.99)$599.99 (sale; was $899.99)$799.99 (sale; Roborock lists $1,499.99)$799$999.99 on the product page ($899.99 on Dreame's collection page the same day)
3-year cost (est.)≈ $580≈ $1,009≈ $1,155≈ $1,170≈ $1,310≈ $1,369≈ $1,681
Biggest limitWash its own mopMatch flagship suctionHot-wash mopsSee very flat objects reliablyHold much debris onboard — the internal bin is smallMop thick rugs (pads lift only 10.5 mm)Climb stairs
WarrantySee Roborock's termsSee MOVA's termsSee Dreame's termsNot confirmed1 yearUp to 3 years per MOVA's wording3 years
AvailabilityStock unclearOn sale nowOn sale nowOn sale nowOn sale nowOn sale nowOn sale now

Prices checked October 10, 2026. 3-year cost = price + fees + required add-ons + our labeled upkeep estimate.

Under $300: vacuum first

At this price you get a robot that empties itself and vacuums well enough for daily upkeep. Mopping is basic. Fine for vacuum-first homes; frustrating if mopping is the main reason you're buying.

Stock unclear Ready to buy

Roborock Q7 M5+

The budget self-emptying vacuum: it empties itself, but the mop is a basic pad you wash by hand.

$249.99 (sale; was $429.99)

3-year cost ≈ $580

Roborock's page showed 'Out of stock, coming soon' on the checked date.

What it does
  • 10,000 Pa suction (manufacturer figure)
  • Dock empties into a 2.7 L bag (up to 7 weeks); no mop washing or drying
  • Single detachable mop pad; no mop lift
  • LiDAR navigation; no front obstacle avoidance
What it can't do
  • Wash its own mop
  • Lift the mop over carpet — remove it first
  • Avoid small obstacles
What else you need
  • Required Bags, filters, brushes, pads — included in the upkeep estimate. See yearly estimate.

Setup: About 20 minutes.

Independent criticism: No mop lifting; 43% of test hair wound around the brush. (Vacuum Wars, updated Sept 18, 2026)

$450–$600: a real mop dock

This is where docks start washing and drying mops. The tradeoffs are suction (MOVA P10), wash temperature (Dreame L40 uses room-temperature water) and obstacle avoidance (Dreame L40 scored poorly in independent tests; the Narwal has no camera at all).

On sale now Ready to buy

MOVA P10 Pro Ultra

The lowest-priced hot-wash mop dock we verified: empties, washes, dries — with less suction than pricier models.

$499

3-year cost ≈ $1,009

What it does
  • 13,000 Pa suction (manufacturer figure)
  • Dock empties into a 3.2 L bag (up to 75 days), hot-washes and hot-air dries the mops
  • Dual rotary mops that lift 10.5 mm
  • AI plus structured-light obstacle avoidance
  • Fully automatic water refill needs a separately sold hookup kit
What it can't do
  • Match flagship suction
  • Refill water automatically without the extra kit
What else you need
  • Required Replacement bags, filters, brushes and pads — included in the upkeep estimate. See yearly estimate.
  • Optional Water hookup kit (optional) — price varies. Price not verified.

Setup: About 30 minutes.

Independent criticism: Not as good as pricier competitors on extremely tough stains. (Vacuum Wars, Apr 2025 (updated Aug 2025))

On sale now Ready to buy

Dreame L40 Ultra Gen 2

Strong suction and a self-refilling dock at a mid price — but it washes mops in room-temperature water and avoids obstacles poorly.

$569.99 (sale; regular $799.99)

3-year cost ≈ $1,155

What it does
  • 25,000 Pa suction (manufacturer figure)
  • Dock empties into a 3.2 L bag (up to 100 days), washes mops (room temperature), hot-air dries, refills water
  • Dual spinning pads that lift 10.5 mm
  • Structured light plus LiDAR; no camera
What it can't do
  • Hot-wash mops
  • Avoid small obstacles reliably
What else you need
  • Required Brush ($22.99), side brush ($16.99), filter ($29.99), pads ($19.99), bags ($17.99) — included in the upkeep estimate. Dreame official L40 part prices; pack sizes not stated.

Setup: About 30 minutes.

Independent criticism: Obstacle avoidance scored 30% against a 66% category average. (Vacuum Chef, May 17, 2026)

On sale now Ready to buy

Narwal Freo Z10 Turbo

Mid-priced and camera-free: LiDAR plus lasers for navigation, a hot-wash dock, and a 12 mm mop lift.

$599.99 (sale; was $899.99)

3-year cost ≈ $1,170

What it does
  • 25,000 Pa suction (manufacturer figure)
  • Dock empties into a 2.5 L bag (up to 120 days), hot-washes and dries mops, refills water
  • Spinning mops that lift 12 mm
  • LiDAR plus tri-laser plus AI obstacle detection — no camera
What it can't do
  • See very flat objects reliably
  • Run without paper bags (an ongoing cost)
What else you need
  • Required Proprietary dust bags, filters, brushes and pads — included in the upkeep estimate. See yearly estimate.

Setup: About 30 minutes.

Independent criticism: Can fail to register very flat objects under 2 cm; proprietary paper bags are a recurring cost. (Techaeris, June 30, 2026)

$800–$1,000: fewer compromises

Hotter mop washing and better obstacle avoidance; the Qrevo CurvX adds the highest mop lift we found (17 mm) and the X50 a 3-year warranty and threshold-climbing legs. The Saros Z70's arm is a genuine novelty, but independent testing found it worked about half the time — buy it for the vacuum, not the arm.

On sale now Ready to buy

Roborock Qrevo CurvX

The best rug handling in our verified set: mops and chassis lift up to 17 mm, with a full hot-wash dock.

$799.99 (sale; Roborock lists $1,499.99)

3-year cost ≈ $1,310

What it does
  • 22,000 Pa suction (manufacturer figure)
  • Dock empties, washes mops at up to 80°C, dries with warm air, refills water
  • Mops and chassis lift up to 17 mm
  • Structured light plus RGB camera obstacle avoidance (108 object types)
  • Matter support promised via a later update — not shipping when checked
What it can't do
  • Hold much debris onboard — the internal bin is small
What else you need
  • Required Main brush ($22.99), side brushes ($15.99 for two), bags, filters, pads — included in the upkeep estimate. Roborock official part prices for the Qrevo family; fit for this model not confirmed.

Setup: About 30 minutes.

Independent criticism: Very small internal dust bin; obstacle handling became a limitation over time. (Vacuum Wars, Oct 2025 (updated Aug 2026))

On sale now Ready to buy

MOVA P70 Pro Ultra

A full-service dock for $799: it empties, washes mops in very hot water and dries them. Strong on hard floors, weaker on pet hair in carpet.

$799

3-year cost ≈ $1,369

What it does
  • 30,000 Pa suction (manufacturer figure)
  • Dock empties the bin, washes mops at up to 100°C, dries at 70°C and refills solution
  • Dual spinning mops that lift 10.5 mm over carpet
  • Camera AI plus structured-light obstacle avoidance
What it can't do
  • Mop thick rugs (pads lift only 10.5 mm)
  • Climb stairs
  • Clean without a dock refill routine
What else you need
  • Required Replacement bags, filters, brushes and pads — included in the upkeep estimate. MOVA's US accessories page listed no parts on the checked date; see the yearly estimate.

Setup: About 30 minutes: fill the tanks, map the home in the app.

Independent criticism: Picked up 49% of pet hair against an 82% average; below-average airflow. (Vacuum Wars, Sept 23, 2026)

On sale now Ready to buy

Dreame X50 Ultra

A premium all-rounder with legs that climb 60 mm thresholds, hot-wash mops and a 3-year warranty.

$999.99 on the product page ($899.99 on Dreame's collection page the same day)

3-year cost ≈ $1,681

What it does
  • Up to 20,000 Pa suction (manufacturer figure)
  • Dock empties into a 3.2 L bag, washes mops in 80°C water, hot-air dries
  • Two mop pads that lift 10.5 mm
  • AI RGB camera plus 3D structured light (200 object types)
  • Retractable legs climb thresholds up to 60 mm
  • 3-year warranty and 30-day returns per Dreame
What it can't do
  • Climb stairs
  • Mop thick rugs
What else you need
  • Required Brush ($44.99), filter ($34.99), pads ($19.99), bags ($17.99) — included in the upkeep estimate. Dreame official X50 part prices; pack sizes not stated.

Setup: About 30 minutes.

Stock unclear Ready to buy

Roborock Saros Z70

The robot vacuum with an arm. It can move light items (up to 300 g), but independent testing found the arm worked about half the time.

$999.99 (sale; Roborock lists $2,599.99)

3-year cost ≈ $1,600

Roborock's page showed both 'Only 1103 left' and 'Out of stock, coming soon' on the checked date.

What it does
  • 22,000 Pa suction (manufacturer figure)
  • Foldable 5-axis arm lifts items up to 300 g
  • Dock empties, washes mops in 80°C water, dries
  • StarSight 2.0 3D obstacle avoidance
  • 1-year warranty; optional 2-year extension for $235
What it can't do
  • Tidy a room by itself
  • Lift anything over 300 g
What else you need
  • Required Rotating mop cloths ($39.99 for four), brush covers, bags, filters — included in the upkeep estimate. Roborock official prices.

Setup: About 30 minutes, plus time learning the arm.

Independent criticism: The arm worked about 50% of the time in testing. (Vacuum Wars, Oct 2026)

Should you avoid any brands?

iRobot: still selling Roombas under new ownership after its December 2025 Chapter 11 filing and acquisition by Picea. iRobot said it didn't expect app or support disruption, but we found no long-term cloud commitment. We don't recommend Roombas over alternatives at the same price until there is one. Case file.

Brands affected by the FCC rule: secondary reporting names Dreame and Eufy among brands whose new models need an exemption. Models already authorized — including everything on this page — can still be sold and receive software updates. Details.

Not sure it's worth it at all?

Our calculator compares the 3-year cost with the time you'd actually get back, adjusted for clutter and floor type.

How we chose these

We include robots listed on the manufacturer's US site on October 10, 2026 (stock problems are noted on each card), with specs we could confirm from the manufacturer or a dated independent review. We haven't tested these robots ourselves; the criticism on each card comes from named independent testers. Methodology.

Last checked . See what changed.